Board of Directors

The Board of Directors oversee all policy and direction of the Corporation based on input from the Academy Advisory Council and Affiliates, with the goal to maintain the integrity of best practice in NMT, and thus protect consumers of NMT and the public in general.

Dr. Michael Thaut, PhD

  • Professor of Music
  • Professor of Neuroscience and Rehabilitation Science
  • Collaborator Scientist CAMH Neuroimaging
  • Affiliate Scientist, Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute at St. Michael Hospital
  • Director, Music and Health Research Collaboratory MaHRC
  • Director, Music and Health Sciences Graduate Programs
  • University of Toronto

Corene P. Hurt-Thaut, Ph.D., MT-BC

  • Program Director, The Academy for Neurologic Music Therapy
  • Assistant Professor, Faculty of Music, University of Toronto
  • Coordinator, MMUS Applied Music and Health
  • Associate Professor, ArtEZ School of Music-ArtEZ Conservatorium
  • Research Associate, Music and Health Research Collaboratory MaHRC

Dr. Volker Hoemberg, MD

  • Head of Neurology, SRH Health Center, Bad Wimpfen, Germany
  • University of Düsseldorf
  • Secretary General, World Federation of Neurorehabilitation
  • Vice President, European Federation of Neurorehabilitation Societies
  • Secretary General, International Society for Clinical Neuromusicology